Self-esteem

My counsellor, Mrs Hart, asked me to find something on the Internet that looked at self-esteem. I’d already found this one so I made some notes to give to her.

http://www.kidshelp.com.au/teens/get-info/hot-topics/self-esteem.php

(I haven’t asked my friends yet to tell me some good things about myself.)

The article gives examples of famous people who were told they would amount to nothing. And all excelled themselves. E.g. “Albert Einstein was four years old before he spoke. He was advised to drop out of high school and his teachers told him he would never amount to much.”

What is self-esteem?

It’s about how I feel and the thoughts I have about myself. How would I describe myself? Would it be positive or negative?

I am a lesbian – could be both.

I have great friends – positive.

I suck at maths – negative + I hate my family encroaching on my personal space.

Today I don’t feel wonderful about myself.

Why is self-esteem so important?

It’s healthy if I generally feel good about myself and what I’ve accomplished. (Not at the moment as I’m having trouble feeling good about being a lesbian.  I’ve got to Year 11 without failing and having to repeat a year.)

It’s unhealthy if I focus on my perceived faults, failures and lack of success in my life. (I didn’t get to be a Queen’s Guide).

Where does self-esteem come from?

My thoughts, what I believe others think of me (and they’re going to think bad things when I “out” myself), how I interact with others, and my role in my family and community.

How can I improve my self-esteem?

Celebrate my successes – when I “out” myself.

Surround myself with good friends – what if they reject me when I “out” myself?

Be a good friend myself – tell my friends why I appreciate them (if they don’t reject me)

Go easy on myself – if I get rejected.

Do what I love – play my guitar.

Try new things – what?

Be able to walk away – if I am rejected.

Enjoy special times – friends’ birthdays.

Accept myself for who I am – do my best.

Work out what is really worth caring about – say “so what” if I am rejected.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

