A new me

Yay, I will soon be Michael Patrick Mardel, as soon as Births, Deaths and Marriages in Melbourne send me the paperwork. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to have an “M” on my certificate but I know that’s not going to happen straight up. On the Internet, a guy from Sydney said Victoria requires two forms to be signed by pshrinks and surgeons to say I have had gender-altering surgery. In other words, I can’t go back to female, even if I really wanted to. That’s why they call the pshrinks at the Gender Clinic the “gatekeepers”, to make sure this is really what we want to do. I guess my impatience with the process proves to everyone this is what I desire. And I don’t even want to think about my family: it’s way too early to think about paying them a visit or returning to Melbourne after two years. One day at a time.

I found another guy in Perth who’s been a guy for three years. We’re going to meet up at Northbridge next week. He passes really well he said and doesn’t want to jeopardise his job so we’re meeting a long way from where he lives. Joe offered to drive me, like a chaperone, and I agreed as I am way too vulnerable to be in a pub and I’m not 18 yet. Joe loves his MG and uses it mainly to go shopping with a mate. He doesn’t have an exclusive boyfriend but has lots of male acquaintances including sailors who berth in Fremantle.

I’m due for another testosterone shot next week too. I feel really energised as I imagine the testosterone going to all my male parts. My face is red but that’s a side effect I can live with.

I’ve been perusing the job ads and there’s one for a shoe salesman. I can’t very well ask for a reference from my old boss, Mr McKenna, as he only knows me as female. I want to start on the right foot as Michael but I don’t want to show my birth certificate because of the “F”. As soon as I get it, though, I will change my bank details plus Medicare and Medibank. When I do my tax, I will fill out all the details for a change of name and sex.

I could always be a cleaner until I get my licence. Then I could be a motorcycle courier. By then I will know my way around Perth. Or I could study for a job.

More research. Where do I really want to work? A brickie was my first choice as a teenager but Mum said “no way”.

 Image

3 thoughts on “A new me

  1. Sanah

    Hi again, I realized later on that it’s really none of my business to be asking such personal questions. I’m sorry if I offended you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

