DSM

 

I went into town yesterday and found the University of Western Australia. I used their computers and found a couple of books on transgender stuff. One of them was called Seeking an identity: youth with gender issues. This was right up my alley and I found it, surprise, surprise, in the medical section. DSM-IV-TR says the following for diagnosis:

  1. A strong persistent cross-gender identification (not merely a desire for any perceived cultural advantages of being the other sex.) In children, the disturbance is manifested by four (or more) of the following:
  • Repeatedly stated desire to be, or insistence that he or she is, the other sex.
  • …in girls, insistence on wearing only stereotypical masculine clothing.
  • …..
  • Strong preference for playmates of the other sex.
  1. Persistent discomfort with his or her sex or sense of inappropriateness in the gender role of that sex.
  2. The disturbance is not concurrent with physical intersex condition.
  3. The disturbance causes clinically significant distress or impairment in social, occupational, or other important areas of functioning.

I found out how to use the photocopy machine and went for it. And I did have boy playmates growing up and was the best kick in the street.

The treatment in this book mentions Stage 1: evaluation, diagnosis, individual/group psychotherapy, education.

Well, I’ve been evaluated though I never got the results from my psychology test.

Stage II is hormone replacement therapy which I’m getting now, once a fortnight. Yay.

Stage III is reassignment surgery. I’ll have a double mastectomy in under a year’s time. Another place to notify my change of name.

In chapter 7 there was some discussion between transsexual and transgender, e.g. only transsexuals had reassignment surgery.

I watched My transsexual summer the other night and not all wanted to have lower surgery. There are four boys in the retreat and I got to see how a large chest looks after surgery (scars), as well as a penis, which was very large. I’m still not sure about having one and a pshrink told me to buy a dildo if I wanted to please a woman. I love peeing facing the toilet but not wise when I’m out as I’d have to take off most of my clothes. I still haven’t been into a men’s toilet but with my new haircut I’m going to have to bite the bullet and do it, remembering not to look at other men as I enter and head for a cubicle/stall. And when I wash my hands and leave.

I can do it because it’s me and I deserve to be doing men’s things.

 

 

 

One thought on “DSM

Leave a Reply

