More changes

I can’t believe another week has gone by and that I’ll be able to have another injection of testosterone next week. I rang my Mum last weekend and she asked me if I had a cold. No way I didn’t and I just said it was a bad line seeing as we were on Skype. Secretly it made me feel good, and hopeful, that the injections are making a difference. I can’t see any fuzz on my chin or above my mouth but the weird thing is, the hairs on my arms and legs and underarms have nearly all fallen out. I used to be envious of a girl at school who had hairy arms and now it looks like I might miss out again.

We had a teacher at school who taught German and her stockings couldn’t cover her hairy legs. A good friend of mine had heaps of pubic hair but I always trim mine for health reasons, like smell. I have a nose for smells, good and bad, though most are bad. I used to shave my underarms because that’s what all the girls did, not that we ever showed off our underarms unless we went swimming and that didn’t happen very often as we were miles from a beach. However, my family would hire a caravan at Lorne in the Xmas hols but I was never allowed to have a friend with me. Every Sunday we would have to dress up and go to church. It was a pretty neat church as the walls could be slid up to let the breeze in which was helpful as I tended to faint in hot churches. A few times I had to go outside before Mass finished so I wouldn’t keel over. Some people thought I was being dramatic.

I went for a job interview yesterday as Michael and they thought I was having them on. I think I’ll have to go on Newstart until I look more like a boy. Very depressing this in-between stage.

I found some info on transgenderism on Wikipedia. In the UK in the 1980s and 1990s there was a group called Press for Change. They were instrumental, I think. In the Gender Recognition Act which gives full legal recognition to trans people. And you don’t have to be post-op. You still need to live in the ‘acquired gender’ for two years which I think is covered by the DSM (Diagnostic Statistical Manual). There were reports of tg people waiting years for hormones but forced into the ‘real life’ prior to hormones.

Until the hormones kick in, I’m going to have an uphill battle of being seen as male. I may get a passport as I heard that’s helpful for job interviews when they ask for a birth certificate.

 

 

Leave a Reply

