An outing.

 

On my day off on Monday, Marlene and I visited Rottnest Island. Marlene let me drive to where the ferry takes one across to the island. It was a beautiful day with clear skies and not too hot. And it was great being with Marlene. I was really nervous driving her car but I’m not going to get confident and get experience unless I do. I have to keep a log for about 25 hours before I can move up the chain to getting my full licence and not having to have P plates. For now, I have to still have L plates. When this is complete, I still have to do the Hazard Perception Test which is on a computer. And for which I have to pay. Then I get my P’s – red for the first six months and green for the next 18 months.  I can’t drive at night with red P’s so no late outings. Very strict.

We had a pleasant day using the bus to get around the island. It was surprising to see the bowling greens coloured black. We also went on an underworld trip looking at some wrecks which weren’t really exciting. It was nice to be out and about, with not a care in the world.

On the way back we talked about what I was going to do once I had my P’s and could drive on my own. I also needed a car if I got into a training institute. My cousin’s house is not near a train line so I’d need a car to get to the station or drive to the institute. I still haven’t decided on which course to do but I’d better do it soon as this year is nearly over. I found an institute near me on the north side of town and tomorrow I am doing a test to find out my interests and strengths. It is costing me but I think it is worth it so I make a good choice at the beginning of my career. Then I will have to look at my timetable and talk to my boss about fitting in five shifts. Monday and Tuesday are my days off so they’re good for lectures. Not all my lectures will be in the morning though and that’s where a car will be handy if I have to hurry back to go to work.

In the meantime I’m going to enjoy my outings with Marlene even if I can’t hold hands as I drive.

2 thoughts on “An outing.

Leave a comment