Tag Archives: study

Study #2

I let my fingers do the walking and found I could do Bookkeeping online. A woman at Open Colleges also rang me and sent me information on how I could pay and how long it could take to complete the course. The upfront fee is $3,290 but I could pay weekly, fortnightly or monthly by direct debit. All I needed was $100 deposit. It was $49.84 weekly over 64 weeks. The time needed per week was about 9.5 hours and I would finish in one year. But if I wanted Austudy through Centrelink then I would have to study 20 hours a week and then I would finish in half the time.

I think it’s doable and still do my five shifts at the café.

I hope Marlene is still interested in the course as I would then see her for 20 hours a week. And she could help me or vice versa. I think she’s bright but maths is not my thing but it seems like a versatile course to do. Also, I turn 18 next February so I won’t need my parent’s permission. They would probably give it but they would find a way to put me down.

I shouldn’t have any trouble as I have an IQ of 128 but sometimes I find it hard to concentrate for too long. Marlene can keep me on track and hopefully not want to distract me. We can still go for a swim on my days off and that will keep me fit, as well as running around in the café. Marlene needs to tighten up her muscles as she often sits all day at her laptop, marketing, taking orders, and checking Facebook. I guess I’ll be sitting around doing Business Activity Statements as part of my course. I must tell the boss my plans. He might want to let me do his BAS when I’ve qualified.

Is Michael’s plan to study bookkeeping a good idea? Maybe you could suggest something else. Let us know in the comments. Thanks.

Study

 

I did a test at TAFE looking at my strengths and interests. One course that interests me is Certificate IV in Bookkeeping. I would learn how to do Business Activity Statements which would suit me down to the ground. Even Marlene is ignorant of how BAS works as she doesn’t need to do it every month as her business is under $50,000 and so she doesn’t charge the goods and services tax – GST.

There are no prerequisites for this course and I could finish it in one year if I devote 9.5 hours per week online. I could easily do that and keep my hours at work. Marlene said she’ll learn with me in case the rules change for her business.

I’m now waiting to hear how much it costs and when I could start.

And there were 405 jobs on SEEK last September for bookkeepers.

So it’s a win-win situation.

Meanwhile work is its usual interesting self with old and new customers coming into our café. The boss has been teaching me the barista and I’ll soon be taking orders and making the coffee, though not all at once as the customers may get a trifle annoyed if I do both. However, some cafes are run by one person.

Marlene has been busy organising a printer and a book launch for one of her stories for boys. She said there are lots of books for girls but not for boys. This book is a journal of a 10 year old boy who travels from Melbourne to Broome where he has tennis lessons and joins the Scouts. There are lots of adventures with his peers as well as his parents when they break down and can’t change the tyre.

I’m enjoying my freedom before I get down to study. What do you think of Michael’s choice of study? What about his wanting to do something physical?

 

An outing.

 

On my day off on Monday, Marlene and I visited Rottnest Island. Marlene let me drive to where the ferry takes one across to the island. It was a beautiful day with clear skies and not too hot. And it was great being with Marlene. I was really nervous driving her car but I’m not going to get confident and get experience unless I do. I have to keep a log for about 25 hours before I can move up the chain to getting my full licence and not having to have P plates. For now, I have to still have L plates. When this is complete, I still have to do the Hazard Perception Test which is on a computer. And for which I have to pay. Then I get my P’s – red for the first six months and green for the next 18 months.  I can’t drive at night with red P’s so no late outings. Very strict.

We had a pleasant day using the bus to get around the island. It was surprising to see the bowling greens coloured black. We also went on an underworld trip looking at some wrecks which weren’t really exciting. It was nice to be out and about, with not a care in the world.

On the way back we talked about what I was going to do once I had my P’s and could drive on my own. I also needed a car if I got into a training institute. My cousin’s house is not near a train line so I’d need a car to get to the station or drive to the institute. I still haven’t decided on which course to do but I’d better do it soon as this year is nearly over. I found an institute near me on the north side of town and tomorrow I am doing a test to find out my interests and strengths. It is costing me but I think it is worth it so I make a good choice at the beginning of my career. Then I will have to look at my timetable and talk to my boss about fitting in five shifts. Monday and Tuesday are my days off so they’re good for lectures. Not all my lectures will be in the morning though and that’s where a car will be handy if I have to hurry back to go to work.

In the meantime I’m going to enjoy my outings with Marlene even if I can’t hold hands as I drive.